Google
 

The Ultimate Guide for switching from a PC to a Mac
(Part 2 - coming soon)

Thursday, April 10, 2008

The warning when emptying the trash!

It is actually possible to get rid of the warning when emptying the trash in the Finder preferences. Most people don't realize that the Finder actually has a separate preferences window. I guess we always assume that everything about the Finder is done in System Preferences. "Preferences..." is actually right there in the "Finder" menu. That is where you can disable the empty trash warning in the "Advanced" tab. It think getting rid of this warning really makes sense now that everything is backed up and fully recoverable with Time Machine.

6 Comments:

Blogger Dhaya said...

Or if you're a keyboard whore like me, using cmd+alt+shift return.

April 10, 2008 at 2:44 AM  
Blogger Denver said...

Dhaya, you mean cmd+option+shift+DELETE

April 10, 2008 at 1:02 PM  
Blogger Dubai_CLouD said...

Would any body know what does the (Empty Trash securely) mean.. !?

April 10, 2008 at 2:14 PM  
Blogger Jesse said...

In my understanding, it means that there will be 0s and 1s written over the deleted data and it won't be recoverable even with special software (whereas normal emptying just marks the space taken up by the data as 'available').

April 10, 2008 at 4:09 PM  
Blogger Krodor said...

"...really makes sense now that everything is backed up and fully recoverable with Time Machine."

as long as you've shelled out the cash for an external method that works. I won't be happy with/be able to use Time Machine until I can use my Linux box harddrive as the Time Machine storage location. Not sure you should assume everyone is using Time Machine.

April 10, 2008 at 7:26 PM  
Blogger Dubai_CLouD said...

Thanks Jesse,, i think what you said explain it,, Much appreciated =)

April 10, 2008 at 10:20 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Brain Toniq. Clear the head fog
Pay Per Click Ads by pay per click advertising by Kontera